getting here - Reisverslag uit Addis Abeba, Ethiopië van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu getting here - Reisverslag uit Addis Abeba, Ethiopië van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu

getting here

Door: AnnainAfrica

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anna

30 Januari 2012 | Ethiopië, Addis Abeba

It is now my 3rd day in Motta. And I finally got internet working, so I can tell a bit about this place and how I got here.
Actually I had a smooth journey. All flights in time, no trouble with customs or other odd things. Nevertheless some things are worth mentioning from our western point of view: like the “lounge” at the domestic terminal in Addis Abeba… at least I thought it was a lounge. And I badly needed some sleep. When a approached the corner with the couches and seats I realized it was just dumped old furniture. But the guards were hanging around there (felt somehow safe) and I could see I was not the first one, to use some of the sofa-cushions for a little rest… .
I also had my first Injera at the airport. Injera is a sort of grey pancake made from a local grain called Teff. The waitress looked surprised at me, when I ordered, but was very happy to see I actually liked it. It is always eaten with some sort of sauce. You use pieces of injera to soak the sauce and grab the vegetables or meat.
Finally I got my connecting flight and arrived at Bahir Dar, where I was awaited at the Airport. Mr. Birhanu (works for the Hamlin Fistula Centre in Bahir Dar) and Gesatew, a driver from the Hamlin Fistula Centre brought me to a hotel. And in the evening I went out with Gesatew to have some more Injera and assist a “traditional” show. Well, it was what one might call traditional dancing to music with some traditional instrument busted up by amplifiers, a keyboard and an electric guitar. But the locals enjoyed it and so did I…. Adding to their fun by joining the dance … :)
Next day I was picked up by a minibus to go to Motta. I had forgotten how long a 120 km trip can be on a gravel road. But first, when we crossed the Blue Nile Bridge (it crosses the blue Nile, one of the sources of the famous Nile river) I saw a hippo. Well, Mr. Birhanu showed it to me, I would not have spotted it as it was disguised as a rock :)) Quite a bumpy ride it was, but it lovely to see the langscape, the mountains, villages… Sometimes it almost looked like back home in Germany.
In Motta I met Dr. David, an Australian gynecologist who is also volunteering here and he showed me the hospital.
It is far from what we call western standards. There is no running water, so the place is not really clean. We have the needed equipment for necessary treatment, but there are barely blankets/sheets for mothers or babies, let alone diapers, the beds are old and rusty, walls are dirty, not all the equipment is functioning properly, only basic blood tests can be done and even that is not always possible …
But there is a really good senior midwife here, who seems to work night and day. There has not been a single moment that I did not see here at the ward. She is trying her best.
Furthermore there are 1 or 2 students and some midwifes the just graduated.
In those first days I have seen more rare complications and problems than in the past 2 years in the Netherlands.
And I still did not find my place or a good task for me. Many of the midwifes are on training at the moment, so some joined classes are not possible and the senior midwife runs the place quite well. I had planned have a look on the plumbing system to see if three are possibilities to get running water. Until now I have not seen the director of the hospital around, but maybe tomorrow. Let’s see what I can do. I also plan to chat with the senior midwife to hear her ideas about what would be necessary.
Furthermore I am starting to feel “at home”. All my stuff got a place, I adapted my routines for water-saving (a neighbor brings us 2 buckets every 2-3 days) I basically use all water until it is so dirty that is only suitable for flushing the toilet, which I then do…
I bought some stuff, like lightbulbs, a kettle to boil water, supplied myself with veggies and eggs at the market (well, with a little help from Dr. David, who already knows quite some Amharic).
And I had more Injera. I took some pictures for you to get an impression of it.
Well, every minute, new things happen here, but for the moment, I will spare you more details.
Thanks for all the messages on the blog, for your emails and support.
Big Hug,
Anna

  • 30 Januari 2012 - 14:05

    Renate:

    Ik geniet nu al van je verhalen Anna!!

  • 30 Januari 2012 - 14:42

    Stefie:

    Hey Anna! How courageous of you! I don't think I would last for one day over there!!
    I'm sure you'll have many stories to tell after your experiences there!

  • 30 Januari 2012 - 16:22

    Marianne:

    Ha Anna! Ik ben blij dat je veilig op je plek bent, het komt me allemaal heel bekend voor, ook hoe je het omschrijft! Verder wens ik je toe dat je snel je plek vind in het team, doe wat je hand vindt om te doen! Hou je haaks, God bless you!

  • 30 Januari 2012 - 17:57

    Erika:

    Hee Anna,

    Je vorige mailtje is waarschijnlijk in mijn spam terecht gekomen... Onterecht natuurlijk, want ik volg graag je verhalen! Ik wens je een hele goede tijd toe in Ethiopie, hopelijk vind je snel je plekje daar.

    Liefs, Erika

  • 31 Januari 2012 - 17:04

    Miekedebest@kpnmail.:

    Hallo Anna,
    Verrassingen blijven je leven beheersen, heerlijk. Het zal ons benieuwen wat je volgende keer weer te vertellen hebt. Succes met het loodgieters gedeelte! De rest qua werk zal ongetwijfeld komen t.z.t. alleen zien, zal je handen doen jeuken of valt dat mee. Geniet van de aangename temperaturen, hier is het onaangenaam koud, maar wel heel fraai. Groetjes, Mieke

  • 03 Februari 2012 - 12:38

    Marleen De Best:

    Hoi Anna, Wat lees ik nu: je zit in Afrika. Hoe cool! Veel succes, plezier en hopelijk vind je gauw je plekje in het ziekenhuis en mag je heel wat vrouwen en baby's gaan redden! Liefs, Marleen de Best, praktijk Sassenheim

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anna

Hello everybody! As most of you know, I am leaving for Ethiopia next week. I will stay there for 2,5 months and work as a midwife in a local hospital. After a short stop over in Holland/Germany I will then join my husband in Mozambique and hopefully continue my work as a midwife there. In this blog I will try to keep you up to date (as far as Internet allows it)about my activities. I know that some of you will have trouble reading English texts, but - as our family and friends are a quite international group - this is the easiest way to suite most of you. Thanks for taking an interest in my/our stories. Big Hug, Anna

Actief sinds 18 Jan. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 361
Totaal aantal bezoekers 109911

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Januari 2012 - 06 April 2014

working in Africa

Landen bezocht: