back to Holland - break between impressions - Reisverslag uit Leiden, Nederland van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu back to Holland - break between impressions - Reisverslag uit Leiden, Nederland van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu

back to Holland - break between impressions

Door: AnnainAfrica

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anna

25 April 2012 | Nederland, Leiden

Hello everybody!

This is going to be sort of a boring message, as there are no weird African stories to tell at the moment and no exotic pictures to show. Because I have been in Europe for more than 2 weeks. And only now I realize I could have taken some Easter pictures or nice photos of the tulip fields around here.
I am currently in Haarlem at Erik’s cousin’s place.
But step by step:
After I came back (quite flights, no delays …) I went to Dresden with the night-train. With 4 drinking and partying Germans in my sleeping-department I did not get more than a few minutes of sleep. But Mom picked me up at the train station, we had a fantastic breakfast, my grandma came and my brother with his girlfriend and son. He is now 5 months old and weighting an amazing 8 kg. I am a very proud aunt! I met friends, had a good time with Mom, also visited my Dad, one of my cousins came along with his wife, and just enjoyed being “home”. Only the cold weather!! How do you people bear this? How did I? I am freezing cold all the time!
Now, I am back in Holland. I stayed at my dear colleague Sadiye’s place for a few days and enjoyed being with “my kids” … actually her 2 sons, which I saw being born and growing up in the past 2 years.
I applied for a visa for Mozambique which I hope somewhere this week. We booked a flight for Friday. And then I can join Erik again. Finally. After 3 long months.
I think I have been irritating many people with talking about Ethiopia all the time. But I was so filled up with all the experiences. I needed to talk through it over and over again. And it is interesting that I realize some things only now. Apparently I got so used to the circumstances over there. And now that I tell people about it, their feedback makes me realize how strange and how different things can be in Africa.
So being here in Europe helps me “process” my experiences from the past 2 months. And now I start to feel ready for Mozambique. Because after leaving Ethiopia I did not feel like going there at all. I did not want to leave Ethiopia. But now I have settled my mind about Ethiopia and I feel free to start my new adventure and I am beginning to look forward to go to Mozambique.
I the meantime I see Holland through my new pair of African eyes: how nice and clean everything is, al the tulip fields with thousands of flowers in all the colors of the rainbow, the straight forward landscape… it has its charms…and it almost seems exotic to me, like a real vacation!
The internet connection in Mozambique appears to be terrible. So I still don’t know how easy (or rather how difficult) it will be to keep the blog up to date on a regular basis. That’s why I signed into facebook and I will see which way will be easier to keep you informed about our life and our experiences there. In Ethiopia I was able to answer emails regularly. That might be more difficult now. I apologize for that!
Big Hug to all of you!
Anna

  • 26 April 2012 - 11:43

    Jetdewereldreiziger:

    Hoi Anna!

    Helemaal niet saai, jouw bericht!
    Leuk om te lezen hoe vergelijkbaar jouw ervaring is om terug te zijn in Noord-Europa. Brrr... Dat konden we toch maar mooi delen. Goed gepland en vooral superleuk dat je nog helemaal naar Eindhoven wilde komen!
    Ik stuur je zo onze foto's toe. Heb hier in Zuid-Limburg nu pas net internet.

    Heel veel succes en plezier gewenst op je nieuwe, grote avontuur!

    Liefs! Jannet

  • 26 April 2012 - 13:20

    Sadiye:

    He anna! lief dat je die foto`s van Rohan en Rojhat op je site hebt gezet :) Rohan vroeg van ochtend bij het ontbijt weer naar jou.... hij keek me aan en zij ...zoals je weet ,,AnnnnA ! '' heerlijk om te horen hoe lief hij het zegt.

    mis je nu al
    groet
    sadiye

  • 26 April 2012 - 16:17

    Annemarie:

    Lieve Anna,

    Wat een heerlijke foto's van jou en de jongens. Ze zullen flink groter zijn de volgende keer dat je ze ziet. Succes met de reis morgen en een hele mooie tijd toegewenst daar in Mozambique!

  • 27 April 2012 - 17:52

    Mieke Sanders:

    Hallo Anna,
    leuke break voor je in Europa en zo zie je maar dat je dan anders naar je omgeving kijkt wanneer je weggeweest bent. Nnu wensen we je een goede reis en veel succes bij je start in Mocambique. Groeten voor Eric en wij kijken uit naar jullie gezamelijke ervaringen op het zuidelijke halfrond.
    Toine en Mieke

  • 29 April 2012 - 15:59

    Marianne Sturm:

    Hoi Anna, Kei leuk en gezellige foto's. groetjes van Marianne

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anna

Hello everybody! As most of you know, I am leaving for Ethiopia next week. I will stay there for 2,5 months and work as a midwife in a local hospital. After a short stop over in Holland/Germany I will then join my husband in Mozambique and hopefully continue my work as a midwife there. In this blog I will try to keep you up to date (as far as Internet allows it)about my activities. I know that some of you will have trouble reading English texts, but - as our family and friends are a quite international group - this is the easiest way to suite most of you. Thanks for taking an interest in my/our stories. Big Hug, Anna

Actief sinds 18 Jan. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 346
Totaal aantal bezoekers 109911

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Januari 2012 - 06 April 2014

working in Africa

Landen bezocht: