Time to tell about Nicane - Reisverslag uit Monapo, Mozambique van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu Time to tell about Nicane - Reisverslag uit Monapo, Mozambique van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu

Time to tell about Nicane

Door: AnnainAfrica

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anna

12 Mei 2012 | Mozambique, Monapo

It`s about one week ago that I reached my “final destination” – Nicane. It`s been a quiet week. Our house is situate at the margins of the village. In the village, there is few things to see and do: a market, where a few things are being sold (dried fish, bread and sometimes maybe a few bananas, 3 onions etc… ), 2 little shops for soap, salt and those things, a bar, which is closed very often, because the owner has to work his land, a mill, where people have their corn grinded, a school (until 7th grade (pupils up to 15 years), a few water points and a cinema. There is electricity for 6 months now and it is used to have the cinema and to play music loud out into the village every evening (telling by the volume that reaches our house outside the village, it must terribly hard at the village itself.
Our house - which we share with some bats, a few lizards and the usual insects like spiders and the likes - needs some renovation, but furthermore is quite cozy. We have a guard, Eurico, who comes every evening and makes sure we are safe. I cannot tell if this is really necessary, but it gives a comfortable feeling. He stays until the morning. And then, when he leaves, Isabel comes. She does the cooking, washing and cleaning. Sounds quite “colonial” or “snobbish”?! Actually, at the moment I have so little to do, that it would be easy to do everything myself. On the other hand, you know me, I even don’t like to wash the dishes… And I hope I will eventually have a bit more to do than the household. I was thinking of some voluntary work at Erik’s organization or with some luck in the health care sector. And I hope to meet someone of the local “hospital” (5 km further on) who I heard is supposed to be in Nicane vaccinating school kids tomorrow. Only that the teacher responsible for the health care at the school, whom we asked to teach us the local language, did not know about it , when I asked him today. Things are going “the Mozambican way” here, for sure :-).
Hopefully, we will have a car soon. This is more for security reasons, because there is no other car around, and it would be good to know that we can get to a hospital in cases of emergency. But of course, it would also help me to get around and contact health workers in the wider area and to do shopping in the next town, at 25 km.
At the moment I do know so little about everything here, that I simply don’t know where to start looking for something to do. Isabel told me that there has been a traditional birth attendant in Nicane until 1-2 years ago, but she died and now there is nobody. So the women have their kids alone at home if they cannot find anybody to take them to the hospital by motor.
Well, I have many ideas, but still feel I have to get used to the place here and get a better impression of how things are working around here, to see how I can fit myself in. And of course find something that helps me getting a longer term visa.
Until then I stick to the household things: Saturday I will start to make a veggie garden with Eurico (that is, if I can arrange for digging material etc until then) and I started with some seeds for lavender and rosemary and other herbs. Doesn’t look very successful until now, though. Maybe I’ll have to brush up my gardening skills.
Finally, today morning something very funny happened: Erik had bought a ventilator before I arrived. He had put it together, but the shield in front of the little motor he had left because it had some holes in it. He wanted to use it to put soap onto in the shower so the water could strain off. Then we had the plastic lid of a coffee tin and made some holes into it to use it for the soap. And I put the shield from the ventilator into the bowl with the dishes to be washes and then be put onto the ventilator. Put it disappeared. I asked Isabel, but she had not seen it.
That was 3 days ago. This morning a guy from the village came to see Isabel and a few minutes later she walked in holding the shield and asking if this was what I was looking for the other day.
It somehow ended up in our garbage pit. And as our garbage pit is highly interesting to kids, no bag of garbage ever remains there for more than a few hours. Somehow, Isabel knew whom to talk to and found someone who had seen kids at the other end of the village playing with that ventilator shield and recovered for us.
Erik calls this the “village’s sixth sense”.

… update… it’s now already Saturday evening before I got Internet working. We started to make the veggie garden, it has been raining, which saves me the trouble of watering this evening. And on the pictures you get some impressions about our house and “room-mates”.

Big hug,
Anna

  • 13 Mei 2012 - 09:38

    Jetdewereldreiziger:

    Anna & Eric & the IBIG adventure!
    Take care!

    Jannet

  • 15 Mei 2012 - 14:40

    Ineke Sturm:

    Hoi Anna en Erik, Leuk jullie belevenissen te lezen en de foto's te zien. Het interieur van jullie huis ziet er schitterend uit. Ik neem aan met het vloerkleed uit Ethiopië! door Anna meegebracht. Fijn dat je de huisdieren gratis erbij geleverd krijgt! Vliegen de vleermuizen 's avonds naar buiten zoals in Nederland? Hoe dan ook we hebben nu een aardig idee hoe jullie erbij zitten en waar je zoal mee bezig bent. Ben zeer benieuwd wanneer Anna iets vind om zich nuttig te maken. Kunnen jullie straks in het weekend met de auto erop uit om de omgeving te verkennen? Hier in Boxmeer alles prima. De tuin ziet er schitterend uit en de meidoorns bloeien schitterend in de Maasheggen en het fluitekruid staat hoog. Gisteren was het een mooie dag maar vandaag is het koud en regent het. We hopen op beter weer! Veel groetjes van ons. Phil en Ineke

  • 31 Mei 2012 - 10:54

    Miekedebest@kpnmail.:

    Hallo Anna en Erik,

    Een groot avontuur waarvan het eind nog niet in zicht is!!! Wij lezen jullie ervaringen met belangstelling en hopen dat jullie beiden de draai en voldoening zullen vinden. Erik inmiddels over de schrik van malaria heen, kan behoorlijk heftig zijn, nemen jullie er iets voor in?
    Tot de volgende keer, veel groeten,
    Toine en Mieke

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anna

Hello everybody! As most of you know, I am leaving for Ethiopia next week. I will stay there for 2,5 months and work as a midwife in a local hospital. After a short stop over in Holland/Germany I will then join my husband in Mozambique and hopefully continue my work as a midwife there. In this blog I will try to keep you up to date (as far as Internet allows it)about my activities. I know that some of you will have trouble reading English texts, but - as our family and friends are a quite international group - this is the easiest way to suite most of you. Thanks for taking an interest in my/our stories. Big Hug, Anna

Actief sinds 18 Jan. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 437
Totaal aantal bezoekers 109916

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Januari 2012 - 06 April 2014

working in Africa

Landen bezocht: