Desperate housewife - Reisverslag uit Maputo, Mozambique van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu Desperate housewife - Reisverslag uit Maputo, Mozambique van Anna Best-Scheifler - WaarBenJij.nu

Desperate housewife

Door: AnnainAfrica

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anna

05 Juni 2012 | Mozambique, Maputo


Last time I told about Nicane to give you an idea of the place we are living at. This time I would like to talk about my work. Only, there is still no work. Erik is working with ADPP, better known to many as “Humana people to people”, which runs shops for second hand clothes in Europe. He is working with water and sanitation, mainly busy with water pumps. The idea is to create a sustainable network of demand for water pumps and production of low-cost pumps by trained locals who can earn (part of) their living with the production, installation and maintenance of pumps. Another part is creating awareness for the importance of clean water for consumption and the advantages of irrigation to student-preachers at a seminary, so that they can then divulgate and promote the knowledge in the communities.

The veggies and the studies
So far for Erik. In the meantime I am still a housewife. I started the veggie-garden together with Eurico. But actually he is doing most of the work, because I am to slow digging the earth. But I learn about gardening here (adapted too little water and too much sun) and the Rucola, cabbage, tomatoes etc. are starting to grow. And Isabel planted some Matapa: cassave plants of which she uses to leaves to make a spinach-like dish. Very tasty!
Jhunito comes twice a week for I get some Macua lessons. Macua is the language here in the 4 northern provinces of Mozambique. Many of the women do speak no or very little Portuguese. And if I eventually get a chance to work here, some Macua will be very helpful. And so I spent my days reading, studying Macua, watering the crops and that is about it.
It is terribly boring. The internet is so bad I cannot skype or chat with friends or family, and definitely too bad to follow a master study on-line, as I had in mind. There are only a few people in Nicane with whom I can have a more profound conversation than talking about the weather and the veggie gardens and Erik is out working all day long. Sitting around is nothing good for me. So I am looking for something useful to do.

Midwife in the middle of no-where
In the last blog I wrote that Beatriz, the midwife of the nearby hospital was to come to Nicane. But as she did not come, I decided to visit her at the hospital. Isabel gave me her phone number, I called her and she invited me to meet her at the hospital.
Well, Ramiane hospital is (I checked it on Google maps today) at about 7 kilometres distance. So I hit the road. It gained me some respect of the locals. The next day, the whole village was talking about the white girl that had been walking all the way to Ramiane and back. Some funny thing happened on the way. In Nampisa, a village half way, I did not know which road to take. So I asked a woman who was sitting in front of her house. She appeared not to speak Portuguese. My question for the way to Ramiane was too difficult. So I pointed the direction and asked: “Hospital?”. She asked back: “Beatriz?”. I nodded. She pointed in the direction I had to continue and that was it. All the women know Beatriz. If you ask for her, they know what you want.
Beatriz is the only midwife at Ramiane hospital. She would like to have some help. So she asked me to pass at the district health office to get my diploma legalized. According to her it was a simple, strait forward procedure. That was on a Wednesday. She was like: do it tomorrow or Friday and you can start working on Monday. We start at 7:30 am.

Global burocracy
Unfortunately, as I already suspected, at the health office it turned out that the whole thing is not that easy. I need to go to the ministry of health in Maputo first. There I might get my diploma legalized. Then it goes the whole administrative way back via the province to the district and the community administration. If it ever gets that far!
At the moment, we are near Maputo for a few days due to Erik’s work. And Monday I will see what I can do at the ministry. Maybe at least I get some information about the papers I need for the whole procedure.
People anywhere in the World claim their country to have the worst burocracy, but I think by now I have enough experience to conclude that burocracy is an international phenomenon.

At the preacher’s Seminary in Maputo
In the meantime, some other possibilities have risen. We stay at the compound of the preacher’s seminary of the protestant churches in Mozambique. And I had a chat with some people here. The seminary is willing to help me to get a better visa and a work permit and in change, I will give lectures on health care topics to the preacher-students and their wives. For those theology students this should be part of their curriculum but the seminary did not have a teacher fort this subject during the past two years. Now this will be my job. I will come twice per semester and give the classes. It sounds very interesting and at least I have something to do.
Another nice aspect of being here is the health centre next to the seminary. I went there to see if they have a midwife and met Genoveva. Actually she is a mother-child-nurse. It appears that since 1981 there are no midwives trained anymore in Mozambique. They have those mother-child-nurses, which are trained to do ante partum, intrapartum and postpartum care (pregnancy, birth and childbed), anticonception, infant and child follow ups until 5 years of age and part of the gynaecology (abortions, detection of breast cancer, treatment of sexually transmitted diseases…). It is a really interesting concept. Especially in a small health centre like this one, because it can create a close relationship between the midwife and the woman. And is suspect that it is also the reason all the women around Nicane know Beatriz and are very fond of her.
I pass at the health centre every now and then and ask Genoveva a lot of questions, and next week I will join her to see how she works. She is very proud that they do not use the gynaecological chair for deliveries anymore and let the woman be accompanied by family in the delivery room. They call the concept: humanized birth. It is not as far as we are in Europe, but it is something. And with the poor hygiene conditions in most houses here, a hospital birth, as long as it respects the rights if mother and child, is usually a better option than a home delivery without any assistance.
So the desperate housewife has regained some hope in the past days, that there might be useful things for me to do and I might even get a (paid) occupation at some point.
I’ll keep you up to date…
Big hug,
Anna
About the pictures: After the cute and the acceptable room-mates in Nicane, these spiders are some that I’d rather not have as room-mates, but I suppose I have no choice in the matter. But here in the south it is much less. So I can focus in nicer objects for my photographs, like the many paintings on houses and shops, the beautiful setting of the Seminary’s guesthouse and some of the people around: Corrie came to visit the Seminary and us and the last picture is how Silvério, who came with us from Nicane is explaining some details on rope pumps to the participants of the training. When he starts, he gets really enthusiastic and it is a pleasure to see him telling things.

  • 05 Juni 2012 - 12:51

    Anique GP Daan Lio:

    Lieve Anna en Erik,
    Wat een opluchting zeg dat het daar nog erger is met de bureaucratie!! Wat lopen wij toch te zeuren hier! Je bent in ieder geval goed aan het lobbyen voor werk. Thuis zitten lijkt mij ook geen pretje (voor een paar weken wel natuurlijk) maar het klinkt alsof het wat gaat worden, succes met praten en reizen. Hebben jullie nog tijd om samen van het mooie van Mozambique te genieten?
    dikke knuffel van ons.

  • 05 Juni 2012 - 19:40

    Marianne Sturm:

    Hoi Anna, Weer een heel mooi verslag en fijn dat je bijna werk hebt. Hebben jullie ook netten tegen de muggen hangen? Hier gaat het goed in Boxmeer en ik heb al wat aardbeien in mn tuintje gezien maar ze zijn nog niet rijp. Er zijn in de Wielewaal al oranje vlaggetjes opgehangen. groetjes van Marianne

  • 05 Juni 2012 - 20:17

    Jet:

    Hoi Anna!

    Wat zijn jullie goed bezig. Knap dat je nu toch aan het werk kunt, op een ander vlak dan verwacht. En dat je tussendoor toch nog nuttige bezigheden weet te vinden.
    Echt Afrika, 'waar alles ook nog morgen kan, als het vandaag niet lukt.'

    Heel leuk om weer van je te horen!

    Zet 'm op en veel liefs,
    Jannet


  • 05 Juni 2012 - 23:23

    Johanna:

    WOW Anna, wat geweldig leuk om van je te horen en wat een prachtige spannende verhalen.
    Ik zou zo naar je toe willen vliegen om te helpen in het hospitaal.
    Ik ben inmiddels al weer 2,5 jaar thuis op Aruba, heb mijn praktijkje in voetreflexologie en homeopathie heropent en werk ook als doula (zwangerschap- en bevallingscoach) en heb net afgelopen week de opleiding medisch pedicure afgerond. Er zijn hier veel diabeten vandaar dat ik besloten heb deze opleiding te doen.
    Het werk als doula is helemaal mijn ding....heerlijk om niet de eindverantwoordelijke te zijn maar alleen het leuke, fijne, ontspannen werk te mogen doen om het de barende en haar partner comfortabel te maken.
    Ik ga zeker je blog bijhouden, leuk om te lezen.
    Ik hoop dat je snel aan het werk mag als midwife, lijkt me heel mooi om daar te mogen werken.
    Heel veel liefs
    Johannaxxxx

  • 06 Juni 2012 - 00:22

    Sadiye Demir:

    hoi Anna,
    leuk om weer eens iets van je te horen. Dacht vandaag nog aan je en ook over je gehad tijdens de spreek uur. ik schrijf nu in Diac. naar je. heb iemand die bezig is met 9 cm ontsluiting en het is nu 02.15 uur en het lijkt nog gaan duren. kan bijna niet op het voet staan.heb het gevoel dat ik last heb van insomnia!!!! :(
    rohan roept nog steeds je naam uit met een big smile op zijn gezicht.
    in Leiden overal is oranje nu en in de kooi helemaal :)

    ik ben blij dat je mogelijk daar wel aan werk kan gaan. het is een giga avontuur weer daar bij jou ! en die bureaucratie ! zij moeten blij zijn dat je iets wil betekenen daar.
    mevr. heeft persdrang ..... ik ga

    kus en groeten
    en heel veel groeten aan Erik!!!

    Sadiye

  • 06 Juni 2012 - 11:27

    Miekedebest:

    Hallo jullie beiden,

    Goed te horen dat Anna steeds meer mensen leert kennen en zo haar kansen vergroot om ook aan de bak te komen. Wie weet, morgen wanneer de abrikozen bloeien, valt alles in een keer samen.
    Succes met alles en ook goede, fijne tijd samen! Groetjes,
    Toine Mieke

  • 08 Juni 2012 - 18:55

    Erika:

    Hoi! Hopelijk werpen je initiatieven vruchten af, Anna... Zou leuk zijn als je wat voldoening uit je dagen kan halen. Maar volgens mij doe je al best wel een en ander, dus onderschat dat ook niet! Maak er wat moois van daar samen, en sterkte met alle uitdagingen. x Erika

  • 09 Juni 2012 - 07:58

    Marianne Stelwagen:

    Ha Anna, je schrijft lekker uitgebreid zodat we een mooie impressie krijgen van jullie bezigheden! Jammer zeg, dat je niet gewoon aan het werk kunt hetgeen je zo graag doet! Ik hoop voor je dat je maandag meer te weten komt of het idd mogelijk is. Kom op, zou je zeggen, even een stempel op dat diploma van je en aan de slag, ze mogen blij met je zijn! Misschien vragen ze nog wel van je om even in een ziekenhuis in de hoofdstad te werken...!
    Maar je hebt je tuintje :)...! Meid, hou je haaks! En rust ook maar even hoor, dat is ook goed voor je.
    Liefs,
    Marianne

  • 19 Juni 2012 - 23:03

    Maarten:

    Hoi!
    Je bent een duizendpoot; midwife, housewife, meehelpen in de groentetuin, ongetwijfeld veel sociale bezigheden om nieuwe mensen én de taal te leren kennen, aanpassen aan de omstandigheden met weinig water en veel zon (wow...). Prachtig om te lezen hoe simpel communicatie ook kan zijn: "hospital?" - "Beatriz? That direction". Heerlijk!
    Boeiend, je verblijf daar.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anna

Hello everybody! As most of you know, I am leaving for Ethiopia next week. I will stay there for 2,5 months and work as a midwife in a local hospital. After a short stop over in Holland/Germany I will then join my husband in Mozambique and hopefully continue my work as a midwife there. In this blog I will try to keep you up to date (as far as Internet allows it)about my activities. I know that some of you will have trouble reading English texts, but - as our family and friends are a quite international group - this is the easiest way to suite most of you. Thanks for taking an interest in my/our stories. Big Hug, Anna

Actief sinds 18 Jan. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 647
Totaal aantal bezoekers 109912

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Januari 2012 - 06 April 2014

working in Africa

Landen bezocht: